Make the most of your community assets

Published on 21 June 2017

Federation Park

Community members across the Moira Shire are encouraged to join their local committees to manage a range of local community halls, recreation reserves and showgrounds and other facilities.

"Without the support of local committee members, these facilities wouldn’t be available to our local communities. We encourage anyone who values their local hall, recreation reserve or other local facility to be a part of their local committee," said Mayor Gary Cleveland.

"The local recreation reserve or town hall may have a number of regular users but the facility is also used by other individuals or for community events and activities. It’s important that these often ‘unstructured’ users have a say in the management of their local facility and this is the key role of a community representative on the Section 86 committee," said Mayor Cleveland.

"No experience is required – we are looking for is people with a passion to help their local community make the most of their local facilities. We encourage all ages and abilities to join," said Mayor Cleveland.

Existing community and user group representatives who wish to re-nominate should advise the respective committee.

"To apply, interested should provide their name, contact details and a brief reason for seeking membership to Council by Wednesday 12 July 2017. To find out more or to apply visit our website, drop in to Council’s local Service Centres in Cobram and Yarrawonga or by call Council’s customer service team," said Mayor Cleveland.

Community representative positions are available on the following committees:

Baulkamaugh Recreation Reserve

Tungamah Jubilee Park Recreation Reserve

Yarrawonga Showground Reserve / Victoria Park

Bundalong Dan Cronin Recreation Reserve and Public Hall

Waaia Recreation Reserve

Katamatite Public Hall

Cobram Scott Reserve

Wilby Park Recreation Reserve

Lake Rowan Hall

Floridan Park Recreation Reserve

Wunghnu Recreation Reserve

Numurkah Town Hall

Invergordon Recreation Reserve and Community Hall

Yalca North Recreation Reserve

Picola Public Hall

Katamatite Recreation Reserve

Yarrawonga JC Lowe Oval Reserve

St James Public Hall

Katunga Recreation Reserve and Community Centre

Yarroweyah Recreation Reserve

Strathmerton Public Hall

Koonoomoo Recreation Reserve

Yarrawonga Eastern Foreshore

Wilby Memorial Hall

Picola Recreation Reserve

Cobram Showgrounds Apex Reserve

Yarroweyah Memorial Hall

St James Recreation Reserve

Nathalia Showgrounds & Recreation Reserve

Cobram Historical Precinct

Strathmerton Recreation Reserve

Numurkah Showgrounds Reserve

Nathalia Historical Precinct

The positions commence from 1 October 2017 for a period of 4 years.

Tagged as: